Parish Trustees

What is a trustee?  Under the law of the State of Wisconsin, every Catholic parish is organized as a separate civil corporation.  The officers of that corporation are the bishop, the pastor and two lay trustees.  The two lay trustees are to be elected by the parishioners.

Lay trustees provide advice and oversight in the administration of the parish on behalf of their fellow parishioners.  Diocesan policy calls for them to be ex officio members of the parish Finance Council.  In effect, this is how their responsibility is exercised.  The “work” of a parish trustee is essentially to participate in the meetings of the parish Finance Council.  Beyond that, trustees sign certain documents – the annual report to the diocese, contracts the parish enters, documents establishing new accounts or authorizing the movement of funds.

In order to be elected a parish trustee, one must be:  a fully initiated Catholic (i.e. one who has received the Sacrament of Confirmation) regularly practicing the Faith, a registered parishioner, at least 21 years old, and a legal resident of the United States.  They are elected for a two-year term.

Todd Burud, currently serves as Treasurer-Trustee.

Lucy Ruth, an attorney, currently serves as Trustee-Secretary.  Her term expires June 30, 2014.